I found a Marantz PM500...

justin_tx_16

I found a 150 watt Marantz PM500 stereo amplifier in my garage. I know Marantz makes great amps, but is this one of them? How much do you think it would cost now (it is not new? It is in mint condition! Do I have something here? I read that it was retail $1600-$4000... but the site that said this is not around anymore... just the summary from Yahoo!Search. anyone know anything about it?

------------------

-justin

I am an amateur, if it is professional;

ProMedia help you want email Amy or call her @ 1-888-554-5665 or for an RA# 1-888-554-5665

Klipsch Home Audio help you want, email support@klipsch.com or call @ 1-800-KLIPSCH

RA# Fax Number=317-860-9140 / Parts Department Fax Number=317-860-9150

ProMedia 5.1 Placement Help s>

haha, nice try Smile.gif

seriously though, does anyone know anything about this amp? it seems nice, i might sell it if it is worth anything.

------------------

-justin

ProMedia help you want email Amy or call her @ 1-888-554-5665 or for an RA# 1-888-554-5665

Klipsch Home Audio help you want, email support@klipsch.com or call @ 1-800-KLIPSCH

bump

------------------

-justin

ok, thanks to John Warren i have much more,and more importantly, correct information and a pic of this amp.

PM500.jpg

here are the specs thanks to John...

Description 2.2KVA transformer, 4 21,000 uf filter caps

Rarity X-Rare

Retail Price 1200.00, October 1st 1974 Marantz Dealer List

First Year 1973

Last Year 1975

Matching Preamplifiers 3300

Blue Face Yes

Channels Two

Physical

Panel Width 19 (rack)

Panel Height 7 (rack)

Width 17 5/8

Height 7

Depth 16

Weight 78 lbs, 83 shipped

Amplifier

RMS Power Per Channel 250 @ 8 ohms, 500 @ 4 ohms

Damping Factor @ Load Impedance >400

Total Harmonic Distortion (THD) 0.1%

Power Bandwidth 20Hz to 20 KHz

Frequency Response 2 Hz to 100KHz at +/- 1.5 dB

Hum and Noise >106 dB below 250 watts

Signal to Noise Ratio 110 dB

Intermodulation Distortion (IM) 0.1%