Help customizing a Pioneer SX-303R

HELP!!!

I managed to acquire a Pioneer SX-303R, that was said to power up, but no sound. I'm a electronics novice, but have fooled with some electronics in the past and made them work.

I read reviews on this unit and am not impressed, said to be VERY COLORED in output. This gives me an idea. I have a pair of the Klipsch 2.0 computer speakers that I was happy with, but with the volume pot issue, I'm ready to trash them.

I had a few DEEP thoughts:

I have a pair of Heresy II's that are currently unused, wouldn't they make great computer speakers. How do I power them. I have a pair of Orion 50X2 automotive amps. What if I come up with a AC/DC power converter and screw them to the back of my computer desk. I could bridge them into mono and wire them for left and right channels.

Since I acquired the unworking Pioneer Reciever, a new thought occurred. Since the amp section is terrible, what if I place the reciever on a shelf, under my computer moniter, with the amp section bypassed, and mount the Orion amps on top of the reciever, using the internal power transformer as the power section for the Orion amps.

Wouldn't that be Cool, for a DIY'er geek?

Questions:

Is the AC/DC converter in the Pioneer reciever 12V or more?

I plan on using the Tape Moniter RCA jacks as the mode of transfering signal from the receiver to the Orion amps. I know they would be full power all the time. I'd have to use the master volume in the computer, correct? Or, should I somehow tap off the volume pot to the Tape out Moniter RCA jacks to prevent power spikes to the Orion amps when powering up?

Also, does anyone have a schematic of this particular unit, to help me find the DC power out taps on the transformer, if this transformer is 12V?

If the transformer is not 12V, is there a way to change the value to be 12V?

Is this a viable DIY project, or am I wasting time and there is a cheap alternative to my end result?