The price of Propane

peshewah

Good gosh I just had my propane tank filled. For 325 gallons ir cost me $665. And there was a waiting list. Everyone wants propane. Darn this cold weather. The last time I got propane I gave $1.25 a gallon for it. I think that was late summer. I guess its supply and demand, heck I don't know. But atleast my speakers will be warm. Ha.

Here in Maine, it is about $260 per gallon delivered to a tank at least 100 gallon size, or "pigs" as we call them. I worked a deal with one of the suppliers for my condominium subdivision that I've been building for the last five years, and there are underground tanks and metered services to each unit, and the cost per gallon there is about $1 less, or $1.60 per gallon. Restaurants in the area spend less than $1 per gallon sometimes.

Oil is the primary fuel choice here for heating homes, and it costs about the same right now, maybe just a bit more per gallon, but there is a difference in the amount of btu's you get from each gallon. Propane is about 1/3 less btu's per gallon, so the cost appears to be a lot more for heating with propane than oil. But the equipment that burns propane is a lot more efficient, and it doesn't need the be cleaned every year like the oil burners do, so in the end, it's a wash.

I prefer propane because the equipment is quiet, small, efficient, and much cleaner. Almost all of it is sealed-combustion now too, which means the units do not burn indoor air, they don't unbalance the air pressures inside the home, and they don't backdraft pollutants into the home, which all results in better air quality inside the home.

That's your mini heating/fuel lesson for the day! [:)]

Greg

About 40-50 years ago my family would visit my grandmother who lived in the semi-country part of town. She heated with propane and the whole house smelled of it.