This album is so INSANELY great I just had to tell you about it!!!

I have been playing this album almost every day for the last 4 months and I just can't get enough of it.

Von Freeman is my favorite living musician and this is his latest, recorded in 2002 and released late last year on NESSA.

How about a MacArthur grant for Von, who has never made any real money but who is one of the greatest EVER?

What makes this one special is that Von was recorded with his regular Chicago quartet--the empathy among these four is amazing.

BEST VERSION OF "SUMMERTIME" EVER!!!!!!!!!

51rI9CD53RL._SS500_.jpg

And here's a tasty YouTube bit:

I'm glad to see you guys supporting Von. Here's a guy who could have been huge but wouldn't leave his hometown for the big city. I had the pleasure of seeing him live a few years ago in Chicago with Allan, Boomac and Artto. That was a LONG night from what I remember! He was amazing, especially considering he was pushing 80. Let me know what you guys think when you get your CDs.

He's recorded quite a few albums in the past 10 years but you'll have to settle for his older stuff if you want it on vinyl. Not easy to find either.

Gary's right. There was only one "major label" release from Von and that was his first record back in the early 70's on Atlantic, "Doin' it Right Now."

This one is EASY to find and you can pick it up for ten bucks on ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Von-Freeman-Doin-It-Right-Now-LP_W0QQitemZ250590605601QQcmdZViewItemQQptZMusic_on_Vinyl?hash=item3a585d3121

The best Von albums on vinyl are the two NESSA releases from the late 70's, "Have No Fear" and "Serenade and Blues." They are more in the $15-$25 range but still show up on ebay pretty regularly. I just don't see how any decent jazz collection could NOT have these two. Essential stuff--among the best jazz LP's of the 1970's--right up there with Art Pepper's stuff . . .