15" Jubilee Design

infurno

Math is not my strong point, I'm relatively a newbie to speaker design (7 built), and it's pretty late at night. With that disclosure in place, I wanted to share an idea for a 15" jubilee.

I used the plans for a La Scala as a starting point. The inner panel which mounts the 15" driver on a La Scala is 397mm x 565mm. I found the same part in a Jubilee and found it's ~22.5% smaller. Then I used this ratio to convert the rest of the measurements.

What I ended up with is a 51" x 37" x 23-1/2" woofer module. Double the height and add reflectors to fit two drivers.

Jubilee15.png

Am I an idiot or does this show promise?

1280660121.gif

If I were going to try this, I would stretch the center of the bass bin to accommodate the 15-inch woofer and leave all of the other dimensions as drawn. But I am just a rookie and when I drew out the full size top view I count up the different pieces and when I reached the end of the alphabet and it looked like AA was to be the next part I though I ought to try something else. It could have been the fact that I thought I counted 5 sheets of plywood for each bin had a little something to do with it. I started to cost out the project and the $700 for just the plywood didn't seem like the way to go when you could get Klipsch to do the completed project playing in your livingroom for about 10 times that. I am doing the La Scala clones instead.

Before you get too far there are some important considerations. You need to know the T/S parameters of the drivers (especially the Qts, Fs, Vas also efficiency and Xmax are useful).

These will determine (mostly) the high frequency extension, the throat size and the back volume required. The existing values are for a K-31 driver, your driver will be different.