HDMI question

peshewah

My reciever, a Yamaha RX V663 supports a (HDMI) video signal of 1080p/60Hz and below. So if I bought a flat screen TV that supported 1080p/120 or 240 and a blue-ray player and ran them both thru my reciever, would I end up getting a video signal of 1080p/60Hz on the TV because of the reciever? Would the reciever be a bottle neck? Does my question make any since?

I may be wrong but here is my understanding...

would I end up getting a video signal of 1080p/60Hz on the TV because of the reciever?

Yes

Would the reciever be a bottle neck?

Yes

Does my question make any since?

Yes

Now I believe you can run directly from the blu-ray to the tv to get the 1080p signal

James

So you think I'm OK with the Yamaha reciever?

I'm wanting the sound of HDMI as well, I hear its the best, thats why I was wanting to run thru the reciever.

More than likely, if I was to get a flat screen it would be a plasma.

Guys , I'm grateful for the response. I'm new at this stuff and I get confused easy.

No TV accepts an HDMI signal at 1080p/120 or 1080p/240. The 120 and 240 numbers mentioned are the screen refresh rates and have nothing to do with the HDMI frame rate.