Heresy Mods

TP143

Hi all,

I am a proud new owner of some 1980 Heresy 1's and am interested in dabbling in some of the modification/regular maintenance ideas I have read about on these forums. First of all, I am completely new to this idea and have little audio knowledge so I apologize in advance for the naiveness.

All parts are original according to the original owner I purchased these from. After first listen I find these speakers, as many do according to my research, shrill and lacking in bass. I am interested in hearing your ideas for toning the shrillness down (my biggest concern) and improving the depth of the bass (a lesser concern). So far I have read stuffing the cabinets (but I am not sure what material - please suggest), applying toiletpaper over the squaker opening, applying puddy material to the outside of the horns (please suggest material), replacing the capacitors (this is where I really need suggestions and elementary level instructions on how to). I know my crossover network is "E", not "E2"and I have read making this upgrade is simple but please let me know if worth the effort.

Any other cheap suggestions you have are greatly appreciated.

Also, can someone please explain what the parts inside the cabinets are called, their purpose, and if they need replaced after 30 years.

Thanks!

Welcome to the forum! I love my Heresy's. I have what you do, and I don't feel they lack in bass or that they are shrill. The first two receivers I had them hooked to were solid state and quite frankly cheesey sounding in the Heresy's. Then I bought an old Pioneer tube receiver from a forum member here, and wow they sound good. Those solid state units I had them hooked to were not very good units.

What do you have your speakers hooked up to? I can attest to the fact that my Heresy's sing best with tubes. I have not had them hooked to any of my Integra equipment, so I really don't know if that is all it is.