Planing a split cornscala.

Hey Everyone… its project time. I have a set of motor boards I’ve been sitting on for 3 years for a cornscala. The ports are cut, the woofer is cut and the horn is cut for Dave’s Eliptrac… I think the pal will be to build a 2 way cornscala. The one hitch to my plan is that the motor board was cut at 25.5” and really can’t be changed without cutting into the port area, and I’m too lazy to do it.

The original cornscala cabs began life as 24” cubed (24”x24”x24”) = 13,824 cu in or ~ 8cu ft. (the math as I remember it is 24” – ¾” on each side, 24” – 1.5” = 22.5” cubed = 11,390 cu in or 6.5 cu ft.

25.5” wide (my motor board) + 1.5”=27” wide externally.

Here were some calculations/ options I ran through before coming to my cab size and I think the cut sheet for the panels.

27” wide x 24” tall x 24” deep = 15,552 = 9 cu/ft ext / 25.5x22.5x22.5= 12,909cu in. = 7.4 cu ft internally… too big… aiming for 6.2cu ft to 6.6 cu ft.

So, 27”x22”x24” = 14256ci in or ~8.2 cu ft ext…. too big, 27”x22”x23” = 13662cu in or ~7.9cu ft. externally.

Close… 27”x23”x23”=14283 cu in or ~8.2cu ft.

27”x22.5”x22.5”=13668 cu in or ~7.9cu ft. which becomes 25.5”x21”x21”= 11245cu in or ~ 6.5cu ft.

So External dimensions are 27”x22.5”x22.5”

Motor board/ back panel will be 25.5”x21”

Sides will be 22.5”x21”

Bottom and top panels will be 27”x 22.5”

So, does this all makes sense… Id love someone to help me double check before I get to cutting.

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic