Wright Audio Integrated Tube Amps

jvs1670

• 11 months later...

It seems to offer good value for the money, although their claim of 8 watts per channel is probably stretching the point a bit.  It looks like there's an input level control for each channel which is extremely important for creating a balanced stereo soundstage.  That is usually lacking in most competing designs.  And they offer (at least in their Ebay listings) a 30 day money back guarantee.  What kind of speakers are you going to use it with, how loudly do you listen, etc.? 

Maynard

Maynard,  Was a little concerned with the 8 watt output.   I want to use it with my 1978 Klipschorns, I want the option to take my avr out of the equation when listening to music and go for that magical sound I feel I might be missing out on.  I like some volume at times but not running at insane levels.  I listen to everything except rap and hip hop, mainly blues and rock with some heavier rock mixed in.    I'm totally new to trying tubes and didn't want to go with used equipment, so I'm looking for something in the sub $1500.00 range and still be wowed.    

Would love to hear you thoughts.     Thanks. 

Having K-horns sure makes it easy to go with very little power!  As to whether single digit amounts are enough, you need to have such an amp in your system to evaluate it for yourself.  In my experience it is very rare that more than a few watts is necessary with speakers having such huge efficiency (you wouldn't believe me if I told you the miniscule power of some of the amps I've done for owners of K-horns, LSs, etc.).  Also, going from solid state to SET is a huge jump, and I'd venture to say that once you experience it there will be no turning back.  Triodes can render a very magical presentation which is tough to duplicate with any other circuit arrangement (such as pentode or ultralinear).  Another, similarly priced, possibility is this from Decware which also offers a 30 day trial: