Complete idiot who knows nothing setting up Home threater system

msphill

Ok, so I have no experience with setting up home theater speakers or fiddling with receivers or anything like that. I have done a bit of car audio, but that’s it. I purchased 2 KF-26s, a KC-25, and a SW-350, and have a set of Bose Acoustimass speakers to use as rears. This system is being powered by a Pioneer VSX823. I have it all set up and ran the MCACC or w/e that is, but I'm simply not impressed... Since running the ACMCC the subwoofer unit seems to no longer be in use while listening to music (and yes, it is on), Music sounds best using the "extended stereo" setting, which doesn’t seem logical, but the rears barely seem to do anything on any other setting, I tried playing blu-rays on my PS3 but the vocals sounded muffled and no surround sound settings seemed to feel like actual surround sound... have I messed something up horribly? I would appreciate any advice.

Edited by msphill
  • Like 1

Welcome to the forum! I don't have Pioneer, but usually when you run MCACC, Audyssey, or those type programs, it will set your front speakers to large. In 2 channel, unless you then have extra bass turned on, there won't be any additional output to the subwoofer. So, you'd want to go back and manually turn your fronts to small. If you make that change, the receiver should send the low frequency to the sub and the mids/highs to the fronts. Someone with more Pioneer experience will likely weigh in with more specifics, but this should at least help your 2 channel listening...