Subwoofer phase

hydro_pyro

I have extensive background in pro sound. I understand phase, and what drivers sound like when they're out of phase. What I don't understand is why my sub sounds deeper and more accurate with my sub's phase is reversed. My front towers are on the same plane as my sub. The effect is the same in almost any part of the room. Why would this be happening? Thanks in advance.

RF-25 fronts

RC25 center

RB-25 surrounds

RW-10 sub

Yamaha V577 receiver

E03B144D-C298-4E06-A1F3-A46D67D1480C-394

DEEE3870-21D4-4A01-976F-C085025ED1B9-394

• Like 1

• Moderators

Mine is the same, I set it 180 degrees out on the sub amp, I would think it's the room causing this ,what else could it be ? Sound waves canceling each other out is all I can think of is my guess ? I have heard if is a sever case it can eliminate all  bass, never it that bad myself.

My bass is a folded horn and so is the sub, the room is 24' wide and 34' long, I would guess every room is different.

Nice looking room. :emotion-21:

Edited by dtel

Ideal listening position is the couch on the right. It's up against an outside wall. This is just a typical living room in a modest modular ranch home. Yes, about 10 feet from listening position.

If I was in the middle of the room and my sub was in a far corner, I could see the possibility of phase cancellation with long waves, but it's not the case here. In normal phase, the bass sounds compressed, if not suppressed. In 180°, it has all the punch. Maybe the far wall (to the listener's right) is providing a phase-canceling reflective path, but if that were the case, other parts of the room would have a "summing" bass hot spot, which is NOT the case. In some parts of the room, it somehow sounds the same on either setting. In most places in the room, it hits harder with the phase reversed (either with the receiver setting, or by twisting the sub phase knob fully to 180°.)

Weird...