How to get the best sound out of Heresy III

Lud Mil

Dear Klipsch fans, I've been enjoyning my new Heresy III speakers for more than 2 years now. I can't say enough how great they can sound if you do the right thing and how bad thay can sound if you don't. The purpose of this topic is to share ideas between Heresy III owners so we can get the best out of them. If a similar topic already exists anywhere, please share the link. Thank you.

welcome to the forum!

I have Heresy II's (or rather, the pro version KP-201's) and they sound best with my subwoofer turned on. :P

I use mine in the home theater so I have them positioned for optimal soundstage and not bass response since I cross them over at 80Hz to my sub. I put them on top of these little Ikea side tables so that they are at ear height vs. angled upwards from the floor.

http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/40104270/#/20011408

Edited by Thaddeus Smith
  • Like 1

To get the best sound out of them, put the best signal you can into them.

Thanks guys. Totally agree with CECA. With my Heresy III, I get a better sound when:

1. They are off the floor rather than on the floor. 18" stands work best. A good sound insulation material between them and the stands also helps.

2. Placed in the corners, but 8"-10" away from the side walls and about the same distance or less from the back wall.

3. I had an HT 7.1 Pioneer receiver and the sound was clear but very flat (I mean not dynamic). I tried the Sansui AU-217 which was a big improvement. Then I bought a Sansui AU-919. Now I got something quite special. Listening to any Fourplay album is a delight.

4. I only listen to redbook CD's on Rega Planet CD player. I also find that as a big improvement over standard DVD players, PC or music from cable box. Mainly in the dinamics and clarity of the sound.

5. Music that is recorded well sounds fantastic, music that is not sounds terrible.