kp301 II problems

nd-irish147

Just picked up some kp301s a few days ago and i have a problem.  The speakers sound like they have no mid or high range.  Both of the horns are working the output is just really low.  I am somewhat new to crossovers and electronic circuits so i am wondering what is the best place to start?  thanks for any help...

• Like 1

I actually did do most of that last night, although i didnt mess with the board.  I do know that there are polyswitches in them but i dont know how to tell if they are bad or not.  They have been driven pretty hard i know one of the tweeters is shot so i am going to order a diaphragm for it.

• Like 1

Alright I figured out the problem. Both tweeters are shot. I pulled the diaphragms out of my kg4s and they came to life. Amazing sound I was shocked at how much better these sounded compared to the kg4. One thing I did notice was that the tweeters are k76 and I don't think those are original are they?

Looking at the picture they should have the k-792 as I suspected.

KP 301 II specs:

http://www.klipsch.com/kp-301-ii-a/details

Frequency Response: 50Hz - 20kHz(+-)4dB (-10dB @ 39Hz) @ 3 meters, 1/2 space anechoic SENSITIVITY: 101dB @ 2.83V, 1 meter, 1/2 space anechoic POWER HANDLING: 400 watts (44.7V) MAX CONTINUOUS OUTPUT: 125dB NOMINAL IMPEDANCE: 8 ohms, 5 ohms minimum @ 230Hz CROSSOVER FREQUENCY: 800Hz and 6kHz INPUT CONNECTIONS: Dual red/black five-way binding posts and dual locking Neutrik® D-shell 0.25" phone plugs COVERAGE ANGLE: 60(o) Horizontal x 40(o) Vertical DIRECTIVITY INDEX: 9dB (+-)2dB DIMENSIONS: 32.625" (82.9cm) x 20.825" (53cm) x 16.825" (42.9cm) WEIGHT: 82 lbs. (37.2kg) Built From: 2001 BUILT UNTIL: 2004