Newbie looking for advice on budget home theater

miketyler

Hello all

I am remodeling our garage loft and am converting it to a media room. While I love the clean aesthetics of in-wall speakers I have opted to spare that expense and go with conventional external speakers that might offer more presence and mobility. I am a little new to Klipsch products but am a big fan of middle to high end audio. I have been lurking here a while and on AVS forums for several years and have a few questions I would like to field to you regarding budget choices for front, center, and rears. The application would mostly be for weekend movie nights.    

So far, the plan is this:

17'L x 21'W x 8' vaulted ceiling

Walls are finished with typical insulation

Denon AVR4800 or AVR5800 125 and 175 watts repectively

Klipsch front, center and rear speakers models TBD

Carver/Sunfire True Subwoofer

Sharp Aquos 70" LED/LCD

Dalite Senor Electro high gain screen

Optoma HD 21 projector

I would like to stay under $1500 and am not opposed to preowned equipment. I read an earlier recommendation for a combo of a pair of RF-62 II's, an RC-62 II center, and a pair of RS-42 II's or RS-52 II's for the rear. What would this setup cost me if I shopped hard on the used market?

I have also read raving comments on the RB-75 bookshelf units? Towers are great but was wondering if the same sound quality can be acheived with bookshelf speakers half the height on stands?  

Appreciate any advice and direction you can offer.

• Like 2

Welcome Mike, great first post!

You already have a well thought out plan and a budget, so I think there are some here who can help you refine what models will give you the best bang for the buck.

My question is about the $1500 budget.  Is the $1500 for 5.0 speakers only, or does that include the AVR and other components you listed?

• Like 2