Cornwall III or Heresy III Matched to Modern Electronics?

Darren HEal

Newbie here, although I have several Klipsch speakers in my home, including a pair of Reference II 42s bought as a Christmas present for me a couple of years ago.

We've just moved into a brand new house and I finally have a dedicated home theater / hifi room where (hopefully) I can listen to music in peace once in a while.

I don't particularly like the Reference 42s as the drivers are just too small to move enough air, and I'm casting about for alternatives, brand new or nearly new.

The Cornwalls and the much less expensive Heresys caught my eye because of their "squat" cabinets.  As opposed to the more modern "tall and thin" cabinets, the "squat" configuration might work better for me than the "tall and thins" because I could place them beneath the edges of a projector screen rather than either side of a smaller (narrower) one.

Does anyone have any thoughts  on using Cornwall III or Heresy III speakers with modern electronics?  My sources will be mostly CDs, either direct or converted to FLAC files on a media PC, and played back through either Cyrus or Primare electronics.  I have had Cyrus kit in the past, which I would characterize as being very detailed to the point where they sound (but aren't) weak in the bass department, easily corrected with bass-friendly speakers.  The Primare electronics would be a shot in the dark, but the reputation in the UK is very very good.

Musical choice would be mixed, mostly 80s / 90s throwbacks.  Show me something that can deliver the goods on Kate Bush's "The Red Shoes" and I'll be sold.

My media room measures about 15 feet x 25 with an 8 foot celling, speaker would be positioned across one of the short walls tilted slightly upwards if necessary.

Anywhere in greater Houston TX where I can get a demo?

Edited by Darren HEal

Undecided yet.