The Rabbit Hole of Remotes (Just Ordered a URC MX-890)

Youthman

• Moderators

I can remember when I first was getting into HT that it was dumb spending over $100 for a Universal Remote.  I decided to purchase a Harmony One and now I can't see not having one.  It truly has made it so convenient (especially for the family) to be able to hit one button to turn everything on and one button to power everything down.

Rich_Guy has been "encouraging" me to upgrade my Harmony One to one of the URC Remotes.  He owns several of them and speaks VERY highly about them.  I've been very pleased with my Harmony One but you how curiosity is.....

Last night I received a notification from Ebay about an MX-890 for a great BIN price so I figured I'd jump on it. 

Apparently the URC's offer much more customization than the Harmony. 

Since I'm a graphic designer, I love the fact that with the 890 I can design my own buttons, background and menus in Photoshop to use for the touch screen.

I also like that it has the capability of RF by purchasing the MRF-350 and the RFX-250.  I don't need this feature up front so I'll keep an eye out for a good deal on a used set.

Once I get it setup, if I like it better than the Harmony One, I will likely put mine up for sale here.

urc-mx890.jpg

• Like 2

• Moderators
Does your new remote have the Klipsch Wireless HD Controller in its device database?

Rich_Guy might could answer that for you.  I haven't received the unit yet so I'm not sure what it supports.  I would think it would.  I've yet to find any component that my Harmony One didn't have in it's database.

So you're going to let one of us have your second best?

Second best sure beats this.  :P

universal-remotes-300x200.jpg

Does your new remote have the Klipsch Wireless HD Controller in its device database?