Juicy Music Peach Owners - Tube Recommendation

rockhound

I have a slight "static" sound when I switch my pre into play mode. I know for a fact that it is the pre amp and not my power amp as I tested this with another HT receiver. I'm looking at the manual and the diagram shows that my peach has

1- 12x4 for power section

3- 6dj8 dual triodes

He mentioned that acceptable compatible types are

CCa/E88CC

I have never changed or bought tubes for this pre amp so please speak in layman's terms when describing any recommendations.

I'm not sure what info is needed to get recommendations but here goes. I listen to mostly classic and hard rock I have a Mcintosh 2105 that powers a pair of Klipsch CF4's. I have a dacmagic hooked to the tape in inputs on the peach so I can stream music from my laptop to my apple tv at the time I do not have  CD player (researching).

Budget is below 250 for new tubes, I really appreciate any advice that you can give me as I'm new to tubes as I explained above.

Thanks

I recommend power cycling............leave the unit off for a few minutes then turn back on.  I believe standby keeps the unit on and tube heaters on.  I never use standby on my Peach.  It doesn't take that long to heat it up.  Leaving it on forever can generate some oscillation.  It has happened at times just playing it and with certain tubes.

• Like 1

I don't know any numbers, but Mark told me one of his favorite tubes was something called (if I recall) "Red Rocket".

It had a rudimentary drawing of a rocket blasting off and some dude straddling it.

I took him at face value and ordered one.  I've never had any issues.  I don't recall how long but I've probably had my Peach for 8-10 years.

I have a slight "static" sound when I switch my pre into play mode. I know for a fact that it is the pre amp and not my power amp as I tested this with another HT receiver. I'm looking at the manual and the diagram shows that my peach has

1- 12x4 for power section