Placement of my first Klipsch 5.1 set...

FocusR

Edit: sorry, placed in wrong forum I see, should be in 'architectural' I guess..

My first post here, since I'm new to the Klipsch family.

Because of my limited budget I bought used speakers and avr, but, despite that I am happy as a little child with my new toys!(if that's a correct sentence in English; I'm from Holland;))

I recently bought myself a nice set of Klipsch speakers to replace my small onkyo 5.1 set. My 'new' set exists of the SF-1 fronts, the SC-1 center and the SS-1 surrounds(used, of course). Heard them, and instantly wanted them!! Also a nice little subwoofer will support them.

They will be powered by my also just bought Onkyo TX-NR616, which is going to replace my Onkyo TX-NR509. And, to finish my little introduction, this all will be placed in a part of my living room that's being built right now:).

The question...

How to place all this speakers, especially the rears, in 5.1 setup, to get the most out of this all, to just enjoy watching movies the way they're intended..

I made a little sketch of the room that's being attached to my living room, it's roughly 5m long and 2,80m wide, with an open walk trough on the left of listening position, and door and Window on the right.

I hope the attached picture works and will be enough to get a bit of pointing in the right directions!

It's just how I -think- it should be, and really can use advice because of the wiring in the walls that I'm going to make in the new home theater corner of my living.

Thanks in advance!

post-63666-0-42500000-1469473520_thumb.j

Edited by FocusR

I like the layout just the way you sketched it. Your sub might not sound best in that location in the room, so be flexible on sub positioning. Other sub positions might be 1/on the right front, 2/by the flower pot next to the kitchen/bar, 3/where the flower pot is on the right rear wall, or 4/where the lamp is by the door.