Good Honda CBX article

2point1

Had one and it was a beast!! But put it in a corner hard and it felt like it had hinges in the frame. Evil handling bike, but in a straight line it was horsepower heaven for it's day.

And about the highest pitched exhaust out there.

Had one and it was a beast!! But put it in a corner hard and it felt like it had hinges in the frame. Evil handling bike, but in a straight line it was horsepower heaven for it's day.

I only have 20 miles on a CBX. Fun ride but it had the high bars on it.

Edited by 2point1

I loved that bike and always wanted one!  They came out the year I graduated college.  I had a CB400F and no money, for a while.  But I always wanted one.  When more money was available, I bought the first VF500F that came into Chattanooga.  The CBX just seemed too big and I was all into cutting corners.

Funny they talk about weight.  At 600 pounds it is quite a bit lighter than the Concours14 I'm riding, now, that I don't think is "heavy". 

I picked up this '79 a few years ago (couldn't resist re-posting the pics.)  The bike really doesn't feel all that big once you get it on the road.  It seems to get smaller the faster you go and has very pleasing engine note.  IIRC the engine is just a shade or two wider than the CB750.

cbx007.jpg

Side by side with my '72 CB350

IMG_0894.jpg

• Like 3

My Dad, brother and I had 3 identical '72 CB350s (green) with consecutive license numbers.  Our first road trip was Nashville, Hickman, KY, Mountain Home, Little Rock, Memphis and Nashville.  Rode past Dogpatch, USA!  Those were thee days!!!

Those six cylinder Hondas were jewels, what a beautiful machine. Is amazing how technology, machining, metallurgy had evolved over the past 30-40 years. My BMW K1600 6 cylinder engine with that of the Honda shows this - both engines are about 23 inches wide however the K bike incorporates water cooling passages into the same width. Cylinder spacing on the K is 5 millimeters I believe.