Protect young people

DizRotus

As an alumnus of Michigan State University, as well as a former prosecuting attorney, I have followed the disturbing allegations against Larry Nassar, a doctor recently fired as a team physician with the MSU women's gymnastics team, very closely.   It appears MSU failed to protect young women and girls from the predatory acts of Larry Nassar, similar to Penn State's failure to protect young boys from Jerry Sandusky.

Rsponsible adults must be alert to even the possibility of abusive situations.  The innocence we enjoyed, somewhat naively, in the 50s and 60s should be long dead.  DO NOT PERMIT ADULTS TO BE ALONE WITH YOUNG PEOPLE.

Any adult who permits one on one unwitnessed contact between another adult and a minor is ignoring a serious red flag.  Any adult who allows himself, or herself, to have one on one unwitnessed contact with a minor is a fool, a predator, or both.

In 1975 I taught driver education.  We would NEVER be alone in a car with a single student, male or female, it made no difference.  That sound policy protected students and instructors.  The possibility of predation, or false allegations of predation, were all but eliminated by the constant presence of a witness.  Any adult who would risk the appearance of impropriety, in my opinion, would only do so because the opportunity to prey on young people outweighed the risk.

A physician, male or female, who examines minor patients without a witness present is a fool or a predator.  Do not trust your children to either.

I can just hear the, "Yes but . . . " replies.  Yes there are situations that are exceptions to the rule, but be alert.   Mrs. Sandusky failed the young boys allowed to sleepover and "play" with Jerry alone in the basement.  The parents of those boys failed to protect them.  The adults who permitted Larry Nassar to examine young girls and young women without a witness present failed those victims.