Create distressed oak look of Forte IIIs

Staples

Howdy,

I am very interested in the Forte IIIs but cannot afford them at the moment. What I can afford are a pair of Forte IIs in oiled oak, which I picked up a few weeks ago. I don't mind oiled oak, but I prefer the distressed oak and white grills of the III.

My question is, does anyone have thoughts on how to recreate the look of the new distressed oak speakers if the starting point is oiled oak?

I have little practical experience with finishes and stains, but I'm wondering if a chemical stripper to get out any oil followed by a gray stain is all that is needed. 

Thoughts?

Edited by Staples
Spelling

I too wondered this.   I've always loved walnut for anything Klipsch, and was forced to go all black to match 2 pairs of LSi's, but that distressed oak with white grill cloth looks so sexy, I want to do it to my Chorus II's one day if I keep them for the long haul.  Would have to start with a new veneer.  My old veneer is beat up and I already spent MANY hours on the CII first in the beginning of the year to strip the original black oak and finish with a Danish Walnut Oil and then AGAIN recently to turn them back to black!

IMG_1869.JPG

IMG_1897.JPG

Thanks.  I plan on going back to make the screws black again.  The idea was to add a touch of copper, but it came out too gold looking.  I should instead try and paint the magnets into a copper color.  I really liked the new stuff i saw at CES and how that guy kept describing it as hand made with little copper screws holding it in place etc. I liked the idea of that and that's what i wanted.  Too bad i can't find a proper copper to match.  Everything is too rose gold looking or way too dark. 

I need to look into that silver grill like the matte blk FIII have.  That would also look amazing on my all black LSi splits.

7 minutes ago, Maximus89 said: