Finally pulling the trigger on a Bob Latino VTA 70

ccdowenye

Hello everyone,

Big day for me as after weeks and weeks and weeks of reading and research, and literally years of reading about how nice the sound tube amps provide, I have decided to go ahead and buy and build my first Tube amp, the Bob Latino VAT 70. I had the opportunity several weeks ago to listen to my first tube amp and WOW! I was hooked right then and there.

While I have no background with Tubes, I thought it would be a fun project and what better way to learn by building right? I am reasonably intelligent, can read and follow instructions, am handy with my hands, and have the time and will to see this through.

I am in no real rush to finish, I just want to enjoy the process, learn, have fun, and maybe (if he shows any interest) work with my Son on this as a co production.

So as I move forward with this project, I would love any thoughts, opinions, and ideas to help me prepare. For instance, what is a really nice soldering iron that you guys may have used that you can recommend, or is there a special work surface and or mat I should consider? Are there things I should avoid? Dangers? Caveats? Please, share your opinions and experience (s) with me. Im all ears at this point.

My listening area is my man cave/basement.  It is an area bout 12x20, carpeted, with furniture. I have and will initially be using my Fortes until I can save for and find a nice pair of Cornwalls. For a source I will use either my CD63E CD player,  iPod or TT.  I currently have a Technics SL23 currently, but will be saving for and purchasing a nicer rig down the road.

I am going to order the VTA 70 over the weekend. So.....help me out guys. 

I look forward to any and all  ideas, thoughts, opinions and such!

Thanks!

Craigster

• Like 3