Receiver for my Setup?

Mesz

Hello all,

I'm new to buying speakers and receivers so my knowledge about them is pretty slim. I want to get these speakers, a preamp, and a receiver to upgrade the sound coming out of my turntable. I've been doing a lot of research online the past few days on what receiver I should get for the speakers that I want, which are listed below. I'm not asking for receiver recommendations; I just want to get a better grasp on what to look for. So my first question is about power. The front speakers (excluding the center speaker which is at 100 w cont) and surround speakers are rated at 75 w cont. Do I look for a receiver that puts out a little bit above 75 w per channel rms at 8 ohm (8 ohm is the speakers nominal impedance)? I've read a lot of conflicting opinions on this. What I've seen mostly is that you should get a receiver that puts out more power than what your speakers are rated at because if you under power them you can damage them. I just don't want to buy some really nice speakers and then damage them because I don't know what receiver I should get. Also, if I were to get an external preamp, how would that effect the specs of the receiver (if it does at all)? I know that if you get an external amp and connect it to a receiver it will just bypass the receivers amp if you plug it into the appropriate inputs. So will a preamp have any effect like this? If there are any other important things I should look for in a receiver please enlighten me and thank you in advance!

RP-150M bookshelf speakers

RP-250C center channel speaker

RP-240S surround speakers

R-110SW subwoofer

254090.pdf

R-110SW_-_Spec_Sheet_635466333600152000.pdf

RP-150M-Spec-Sheet.pdf

RP-250C-Spec-Sheet.pdf

•  
Edited by Mesz