Inherited a set of La Scalas

Now what?

So yeah, these speakers were my father’s late 70s/early 80s ( not 100% sure on the year) La Scalas. Right now I have a very basic home theater surround sound set-up. I am not experienced in this high end of audiophile-ness. I want to use them obviously but I want to know basically would it be better to ditch the surround sound and go with a 2.1 set-up for the tv and music? Or keep my surround intact (cheap compared to these, Polk setup + sub) and use the La Scalas as the Front L and R? Will those other speakers be so bad in comparison that it would be better to stay two channel with the La Scalas? Also, my AV receiver is a Yamaha RX-V385. Will there be problems there? Again forgive my ignorance and hopefully I don’t get too much of a hard time for asking these basic questions. Below is some info.

The room is a small/moderate room with high ceiling. Like I said, will be used as TV speakers + music. Yamaha RX-V385 receiver. I don’t mind “investing” in a proper set-up for a home system, however, I certainly would never acquire La Scalas other than inheriting them like I did if that makes sense. Basically I would never have paid for these speakers new as $2-4K/speaker would be an insane amount for me personally to pay for anything. However, I am willing to sink $500-$1000 in order to upgrade where I can and after that slowly upgrade from there when I can. Thanks in advance.

Edited by Mudcat3434
  • Like 1

Welcome to the forum! Your Father has good taste in speakers. The LaScalas are some of the most detailed and revealing Klipsch speakers and if set up properly can sound almost exactly like live music. You can literally close your eyes and 'see' someone singing in front of you with a guitar, drums etc. I would ditch the polk speakers and run these as a 2.1 system. With the detail and 'big' soundstage, you will find you wont miss your surrounds.