New CF3 Owner Advice

rannydhodes

I am new to Klipsch and new to this forum.  I grew up in the 80s outside of Hope, AR (in Texarkana) and always new of Klipsch as the pinnacle of speaker quality, although I could never afford them.  Well, I found a pair of CF3 v.1s on my local shopgoodwill.com and go them for $350!  They are in great shape.  I'm looking forward to hooking them up and taking them for a test drive.  However, I have a Harmon Kardon AVR520 tuner that I mainly used as garage listening with some old Sony SS-U7030s that I kept from my college days.  Will this HK do the trick for a non-audiophile or should I look to upgrade the receiver?  Can I just add an amp to boost the output?  Please understand that I know very little at this point about the audio technical world, but I am willing to learn.  So, please use layman's terms if you are able to provide any advice or feedback.

CF3.1.JPG

• Like 1

Just out of curiosity, what's the serial numbers on them?  Did you get version 1, 2, or 3?  Great speakers!  Give them some real power if you can.  I ran mine with a LLatino Dynaco VTA ST-70 tube at @ 35wpc, a Mcintosh MC250 @ 50wpc and a highly modified Carver M-1.0t MkII amp @ 450wpc.  The Carver really did the best by far.  It's not that you "need" the power, but it sure does wonders for headroom and bringing them to life.  I'm not certain an A/V receiver will do tthem their best...but get them started, maybe.

• Like 1

17 hours ago, avguytx said:

Found the s/n on the auction

69638611211332256.JPG

21 hours ago, rannydhodes said: