General Help with Speakers

Glide1340

I have an Onkyo TX-NR686 and I want to know if I can safely use this Klipsch speaker setup.
2 R-820F floor standers
2 R-51M bookshelf
1 R-120SW sub-woofer
and a RP-500C center channel
I am relatively new to this type of AVR configuration so please forgive my ignorance. My main concern is with the power specs of the R-820F's and the R-120SW speakers. I've included spec sheets for the components in question. Thanks in advance for any help.

R-120SW_Spec-Sheet_v01.pdf

R-820F_Spec-Sheet_v01.pdf

TX-NR686-Amplifier Section.docx

• Like 1

Hi Glide; welcome to the forum :D 

Pretty sure you will be just fine. Had an Onkyo TX-NR686 and used to run L/R Cornwall's on it plus back Heresy's and a center.  "Purists" may advise more power, but I run Pro KPT-904 speakers off a 52W/ch Marantz 2252 and it is awesome ... haha; recommended power for these is 800W/ch :) 

Cheers, Emile

• Thanks 1

The subwoofer has its own internal amplifier so the type of receiver you connect won't cause any issues with it.

When you're listening to music or watching a movie as long as you're not hearing audible distortion you won't be damaging anything.

• Thanks 1

• 2 months later...

Power ratings are.sorta.like top speed.ratings for your car.  Because it can drive 142, doesn't mean you will, or will need to.  You will likely be averaging 0.1 watts/channel and peaking at 10.  100 watts/ch is plenty and well more than enough.  Should the Onkyo be only capable of delivering 60w/ch with all channels driven (very common), it is still plenty and more than enough. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

On 12/3/2018 at 4:20 PM, Emile said:

Hi Glide; welcome to the forum :D 

Pretty sure you will be just fine. Had an Onkyo TX-NR686 and used to run L/R Cornwall's on it plus back Heresy's and a center.  "Purists" may advise more power, but I run Pro KPT-904 speakers off a 52W/ch Marantz 2252 and it is awesome ... haha; recommended power for these is 800W/ch :) 

Cheers, Emile