Looking for an budget amp for my Heresy 1s

zcmckenna

I am new to the HiFi audio scene and have been looking for an amp/preamp combo or integrated amp to replace my old Pioneer VSX-D508 reciever for a 2 channel Klipsch Heresy 1 setup (music only, no movies). I am looking for something under $250 if possible. I have had the Nobsound MS-10D MKII recommended, but have seen very mixed opinions on that, and was wondering if anyone here has had any experience with one. I also am not sure whether to try to go with tube amplifiers or solid state amps. Thanks in advance!

• Like 1

@zcmckenna,

Welcome to the forum.

I have owned a pair of Heresys for close to 10 years and Heresy IIs for about 8 years and every piece I have driven them with has sounded pretty darn good.

What type(size, etc.) of room will this setup be in?  

How loud do you listen?

Turntable, CD player, streaming?

Are you considering new or used?

Where are you located?

Bill

Consider this....   I have two of them: one driving speakers in our bedroom, and one driving outdoor speakers on our deck.  Both have worked flawlessly for years.

For $139 The build quality is quite remarkable.  Note that it only has two inputs (and switches automatically b/w them) and no remote.  In our bedroom I use one input for Apple airport express (to receive signal via airplay from our music server) and the second for a 1/8" jack that can be used by any iphone/ iPod.  Puts out 50w/ channel with inaudible levels of distortion and has impressive signal-to-noise and channel separation specs for it's price.  Plus, it feels remarkably solid for such an inexpensive component.  As for the Nobosound amp you mention, I've never heard of the brand.  Is it UL (Underwriters Laboratories) approved? I would worry about leaving such a thing plugged in if not.