New dual sub setup - boomy

DeCruelz

Hey guys!

About 6 months ago, I finally bit the bullet and upgraded from my puny Yamaha entry level HT system. I've had this system for over 10 years now from when I was a student, renting a 1 bedroom unit.

I now have Klipsch RP-280Fs, RP-450C, RP-250Ss, two R-110SW 10" subwoofers and Yamaha NS-IC800 in ceiling speakers connected to a Yamaha Adventage RX-A1070 to complete my 5.2.2 setup.

I love my movies and music and to this day, I'm still in awe with this system and am slowly rewatching everything from my collection especially those now available in 4K and Atmos or DTS-X audio.

In the past 6 months, I have been tweaking on and off and I think I have it now at a level I am truly satisfied with. I recently rewatched "Hans Zimmer - Live in Prague" and I had tears running down my cheeks :) If you love his work, please do yourself a favor and go get the Bluray.

Now the issue. With certain tunes at certain volumes, I get a somewhat unpleasant boomy sound with a bit of a rumble with it. Unfortunately, that's the best way I can think of to describe it. If I increase the listening volume, this boomy sound is more pronounced too. It also tends to come on and off abruptly.

A few things I have tried to mitigate this with varying success:

1) Switch the phase on one sub to the opposite. This helps reduce the boominess but takes a significant punch out of the bass. Increasing the gain helps but I lose the punchy, tight bass.

2) Swapped cables. Swapped left sub to right - no difference.

3) Reduce the bass trim in AVR, increase gain in subwoofer. No discernible difference either.

4) Added sound treatments for both high and low frequency. I had pretty bad echoing before and got same bass traps while I was at it. Echoing is gone but can't tell if bass traps helped.