Audirvana

Dustyzz

Like the topic says, who else is using Audirvana Plus for streaming? I am using it with a mini PC (windows 10) to stream Qobuz and Tidal to a Marantz AVR with a built in DAC (24/192khz). I am pretty new at this and just wondering what insights or tricks the old timers might have for getting the best out of Audirvana.

Edited by Dustyzz

I looked it up and see it's merely software for sale for Windoze and Mac.  Didn't thoroughly study it for two reasons: been using Gnu/Linux for nearly 25 years; couldn't see how they would be able to justify some of their claims (MQA is a non-issue in my book, for one - Microsoft bought out something similar years ago (HDCD) and it too was such a non-issue it fell by the wayside early on).  There a plenty of free (both ways) softwares that perform everything necessary for the task.

I use Qobuz in a Firefox browser window to stream it. It sounds just fine. On my phone I use the Qobuz app. I am streaming to an old Onkyo amp. I use a clone of Logitech bluetooth receiver. The clone cost €18, the original is €21.

For downloaded files, I like VLC Mediaplayer because it is cross platform: I have it on my Linux laptop, on my video editing desktop machine, and even on my Android phone and Amazon Fire tablet. It is free. On Linux, I also like Clementine, which seems to be less known, but does a really good job. It even runs on a Raspberry Pi.

I'm not sure about Audirvana+. Never heard of it before. VLC Mediaplayer has been around for... 15 years - just a guess.