Harmon Kardon citation II Question

Trent_G

I’m new to tube amps and need some guidance. I found a Harmon Kardon citation II at a decent price that I’d like to get.  My question is I have Forte III’s ran by a Denon  AVR- x3500h. Will this amp make a big difference or is my receiver a major weak link? Thanks in advance. 
image.jpeg.9e59d2002ded31ecf3c2d1ed14abe8a0.jpeg

Edited by Trent_G

6 minutes ago, tube fanatic said:

It will sound different.  Only you can decide if it is more pleasing.  Can you audition the amp in your system before purchasing?  Has the amp been restored?  

Maynard 

The guy said it has been completely went thru and he has the receipts to prove it. Comes with original manual and extra tubes. He suggested I bring over my speakers also but I would really rather not as they are big and heavy not to mention the chance of them getting scratched up. I was hoping someone could give me some insight as if this would be a good fit for existing equipment. Thanks 

If the guy offered to let you bring over your speakers can’t he bring the amp over instead?  The issue here is that no one has your ears- it doesn’t matter if 10 guys tell you it will sound glorious if don’t agree when you hear it.  It would be helpful if you could post a picture of the underside of the chassis along with a copy of the seller’s receipt showing exactly what was done.  

Maynard

• Like 3

31 minutes ago, tube fanatic said:

If the guy offered to let you bring over your speakers can’t he bring the amp over instead?  The issue here is that no one has your ears- it doesn’t matter if 10 guys tell you it will sound glorious if don’t agree when you hear it.  It would be helpful if you could post a picture of the underside of the chassis along with a copy of the seller’s receipt showing exactly what was done.  

Maynard