Will this set up play nice together? Newbie to Klipsch

marcanol

Hi Everyone!!!

I am excited to get my first Klipsch setup. I will mostly use it for music and video games. We don't watch much tv, but when we do, we watch it loud!

I got a really good deal on the below and want to know if the receiver I chose will play nice with the speakers.

My fear is that the in-wall speakers can't handle the power from the amp. This might be wrong, I am new to this, but am guessing this as the speakers say 50Watts RMS and the Denon site has the receiver at 75 Watts for 2 channels at 8 ohms. All these numbers are confusing and I don't want to blow my speakers or amp. 

Any suggestions?

Receiver: Denon AVRS750H

Center:  Klipsch RP504C 

Rears:  Klipsch in-ceiling CDT-5800C II

Sub: Klipsch R-120SW

Is this a decent setup? What should I change, if anything. I was also looking at the Onkyo TX-NR686.

Edited by marcanol
  • Like 1

Hi! Welcome to the forum

Yes, your denon will work fine with your klipsch speakers, so no need to worry there. Its one of the most popular HT brand matchups in my opinion. If you're worried about the power specs, dont be. Power specs on receivers are bogus anyway, and "RMS" basically means "on average". The speaker might be rated to 50W RMS, but it does fluctuate up and down. In short, speakers are quite durable and won't get blown by any receiver on the market. The Onkyo TX-NR686 is a great "bang for buck" avr. I myself have owned and loved it. When playing music, be sure to enable "pure direct" and you'll be golden. Should you transfer to the onkyo, do buy from a place that offers 100% money back guarantee. Onkyo are too known for their shabby hdmi ports and I wouldn't want you to waste your money. This stuff, as you probably know, can get expensive in the long run.