DIY La Scala Driver Options - UK

Robbie010

Good Evening all! (where I am anyway)

Newbie here...... please be gentle!

I have been floating around the forum and reading various threads over the last few weeks and have now formed some solid questions that I am looking for some advice on. I am planning a winter project to build some DIY La Scala II speakers. I have detailed plans and will be using 24mm ply. The practical side of constructing the cabinets I am fairly confident with, but I have been struggling to get my head around the various driver and crossover options.

I know this question has been asked before, however, I am based in the UK and I am finding that original driver options are scarecely available or are located in the US, meaning that shipping and import costs will likely kill the project before it has got off the ground! The same goes for the Crites drivers.

From reading various threads on here and elsewhere I have noted the following options:

Woofer

Eminence Kappa 15C - Locally available at £230 a pair

Crites CW1526 - Roughly the same price per unit but would need to be imported

Mid-Driver

Crites A-55G - Costly at £280 a pair and would need to be imported

Atlas PD-5VH - Slightly less expensive at £220 a pair but again will need importing

Selenium D250-X - These would need to be imported but are substatially cheaper at around £80 a pair

Tweeter

Crites CT125 - Seem very fairly priced at £130 a pair but again will need importing

Are there any other options that I could look at??

Thanks in advance!

B&C audio out of Italy and have UK distributor. I use their 12 in woofer in Heresy set, and many folks, including me, use their tweeter drivers. Mid range also available but not as widely used, but certainly worth checking if more local to you. Keep us posted with your project.

• Like 2

19 hours ago, MC39693 said: