RW-10 - RW-10D / RW-12 - RW-12D REPAIR BLOG

ngen33r

Hello All

I have been repairing Klipsch subwoofer amps for about 15 years as a hobby. I have decided to start blogging my repairs and eventually do videos of each one. This thread is intended to be a blog and a resource for information. I will try to answer repair questions as best I can. Comments and tips are also welcome, If you do not have the experience or the tools, PLEASE do not attempt any of these repairs. You will only end up damaging the board and it will end up costing more for a tech to repair the damage. If you do not have a high quality vacuum desoldering station (Hakko or Weller) and a current limited mains supply, you should not be working on these amps. These subwoofers do not have any user serviceable parts inside. If you open up the sub or attempt any repair you see in this thread, you are doing so at your own risk!!!

RW-12D PLATE SERIAL A308380152

This amp had a power supply failure due to the glue used to secure the parts becoming conductive.  The PDC board needed to be rebuilt and all the glue removed. The fets were replaced and the power supply was recapped. Parts were secured with GE silicone II.

20191129_014202.jpg

great idea to start a thread like this.  lots of these subs out there that are dead & like many other brands of amps & sub plate amps, the glue they used causes most the issues. 

i have the rw-12d & am sure the glue on the area you have circled is what killed mine.  im in the process of cleaning it up & was wondering if you can confirm any other locations that had the bad glue?  is it the yellowish-tan glue around the caps & other parts that is the main issue or the dark brown stuff on that small board you have circled?  also can you say what you use to remove it?  its nasty stuff & so far only physically chipping it away has removed it.   mine blew the little round green thermistor too.  

8 hours ago, EpicKlipschFan said: