New home theatre kicks ***, but 2ch stereo not greatest

Danomite

Hello there friends. Kinda new to the game, so Im looking for some input from some of you old pros out there. I wanted a home theatre that would be great for movies, tv, and loud music. The movies are top notch, but the stereo sound is just so so. Sounds great at normal listening volumes, but go to crank up my favorite song (which is pretty well my entire music library) and it just doesn’t sound great. Seems distorted to me at high volumes. Would this be because I am powering my towers from an avr and not a dedicated stereo amplifier? My system consists of:

- Marantz SR7012

- Klipsch RP8000f x2

- Klipsch RP504C

- Klipsch SLM5400 x4

- Klipsch RP112SW

I was expecting great things from this system, but overall Im a little bit disappointed. Am I missing something (dedicated amp for towers?). Or am I just crazy to think this system should sound better than it actually does? Thanks in advance folks.

I'm new to Klipsch - not new to the game.  I'm running a set of RP8000's and recently took delivery of an RP504C like yourself.  Power is coming from my Marantz SR7013. 

I can guarantee something is amiss, because right now I'm running stereo only (pure direct) and the sound is epic.  I mean 'Maxell Blown Away Guy' levels.  It's fantastic.  Great musical quality to the receiver as well. 

What's your source?  I'm playing mostly Tidal masters or FLAC off USB, so quality is better than not.  But anything I seem to throw at it is pretty impressive.  Lots of things to consider when it's not going right, but maybe a tech from here can chime in?  Best of luck.

• Like 3

Just now, johanness said:

I'm new to Klipsch - not new to the game.  I'm running a set of RP8000's and recently took delivery of an RP504C like yourself.  Power is coming from my Marantz SR7013.