The Klipsch Audio Community
Jeffrey D. Medwin

Thinking of doing a Dynaco / DYNA PAS Preamp

Hello, 

Last Wednesday, I blew up my 1979 Fulton /Nexus Bravura stereo phono and line stage  preamplifier, as I was adding mods to it.  I am NOT good at all, doing solid state work, so this was no surprise.  'A risk I took.

I can't personally fix it, ( its solid state ) and there are only two people living who know the circuit.  I'd have to take it to Kansas City, where a GOOD technician with 40 years high-end audio-repair experience may ( or may not ) be willing to work on it.

As I see it, I have three choices :

1)  See if the Kansas City audio repair technician will repair the Fulton dual-mono Bravura preamp

2) During  Q4, 2019,  on-paper,  I fully designed an elaborate / deluxe all- tube  phono preamp, ( B+ nodes double-series-shunt-regulated ).  I could scratch-build that,  'have many of the parts on hand

3) Safest path of all, simply modify / rebuild a Dynaco / DYNA PAS 2 or PAS 3.

Since 1979, I have learned a lot from two bright mentors, on tube design and building, that should be applied - to any PAS in 2020 !!  

As of today, Option number three appeals to me the most.   These contemplated  Dynaco  PAS mods would be UNLIKE all the typical ones everyone does.   I have well established design prejudices and priorities !!  These are firmly established from all the years of tube amplifier building. I've never built a phono preamp !! 

As an experiment, Saturday night I augmented the runs on the stock Dyna PC  board, to determine if it could be done.  Everyone else uses the stock PC board runs, with out much thought.  The traces on the Dyna boards are THIN, so they exhibit poor transfer efficiency.   Also, the PC board traces are of lower sonic quality, compared to using some of the better-quality, real-wire available !!