Amp Rolling with Active Jubilees

Ziggurat

Hi all, it's been a while since I posted here.  I wanted to share some of my experiences with Jubilees, running actively through a Xilica XP crossover / eq.  One of the main reasons for this is that when I was purchasing my Jubilees, I think I misunderstood information I had read about powering them.  Basically, I had thought that the Xilica would be a 'great leveller' making all amplifiers sound the same - that I could pretty much buy any old amp and turn it into a killer with the Xilica and high-sensitivity Jubilee combo.

I can now say that whilst it is an amazing bit of kit, the Xilica does not fundamentally alter the personality of amplifiers - in my experience.  I am not an expert Xilica driver, nor am I an audio reviewer - so all that follows is just FWIW.  I have used several different amplifiers on both the bass bins and the K402 horns and am going to give a brief description of my observations, NOT to extol the virtues or otherwise of these components, but to highlight the importance of finding the right amplifiers if you own, or plan to own Jubilees. The revealing nature of the Jubes, when run actively, is not to be underestimated.  I want to add here that the Xilica certainly gives the ability to make the most of both the Jubilees and your chosen amp, but that does not mean that other choices aren't better. Like with any audio decision, listen to as many options as you can!  

My upstream gear is a PC optimized for audio (Tidal), running to a Chord M-Scaler and Qutest DAC combo, then to a Wyred 4 Sound pre-amp, the Xilica, and then out to the amps.  The factory compression drivers on the 402 have been replaced with Faital HF200 8-Ohm units.

Bass Amplifiers