Electric shock at subwoofer metallic parts

Anamitra

Hi,

Greetings!

I have been using the R12SW subwoofer for almost 3 years now, and hands down I am always in love with it!

I recently shifted homes, and the entire audio setup was uninstalled and reinstalled completely by me. Can’t just let anyone else touch it.

However after installation, when I touched the on-auto-off switch behind the subwoofer, I got a pleasant electric shock. Unfortunately I don’t have a voltmeter, and using an electric tester I found power at every metallic part of the subwoofer (be it screws, switches, line in ports).

(PS : range of electric tested is 110-240v)

I disconnected the RCA cables, changed the power source : but all this did not solve the problem.

Can you please advise what can I do next? Do you feel there is a loose connection inside the chassis, or a foreign object there which is causing this power leakage? 

Due to these pandemic times taking it to a service center is not an option.

Thank you so very much for your suggestions!

Best regards

Anamitra

54F0C5C7-38E9-42F4-B9EA-27D19E842BBF.jpeg

2 hours ago, Anamitra said:

I have been using the R12SW subwoofer for almost 3 years now, and hands down I am always in love with it!

I recently shifted homes, and the entire audio setup was uninstalled and reinstalled completely by me. Can’t just let anyone else touch it.

However after installation, when I touched the on-auto-off switch behind the subwoofer, I got a pleasant electric shock.

I think you should unplug that subwoofer from the wall outlet. You may want to check your house wiring for correct polarity, using a house wiring receptacle tester, or hiring an electrician if you prefer. Then I would check the subwoofer. Be safe with electricity.

DSCF0765.JPG.b9edecb5a6b762d28d2601ac8cce1897.JPG

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

On 4/15/2021 at 9:58 PM, Anamitra said:

Hi,

Greetings!