Another DIY Center

EJH

Well I finally finished this center speaker project, less the grill. I'm no professional but it sure was fun. At $430 including a few new tools, I love the sound even if it's not perfect. In case you're wondering:

Dimensions: 31.5W X 10.5H X 16D

Tweeter: K-76 Heresy II

Squawker: K-53 Heresy II

Woofer: Fostex FE206E (Full Range) each isolated in ~0.74cu. ft., 2.5in ports at ~4.75in length

Crossover: Heresy II, replaced Caps with Solen & Kimber

I will probably replace the coils in the next few months. But for now the spending is on hold.

For the experts out there, let me know what you think. I know you'll be honest before being kind.

By the way my Mains are '86 LaScalas and my room size is 20'x20'.

One thing I will do next time is use shielded drivers. I'm still battling the color distortion. Actually, I am hoping that my TV craps out and I can tempt my wife into a projection or plasma monitor.

My wife gave me The Last Waltz DVD for Christmas and it was a great first experience.

post-5041-13819251300548_thumb.jpg

Here is a view of the room with LaScala.

I built the AV stand, my wife does the decorating.

She was kind enough this year to have two custom glass tops made for the LaScalas. Very nice! plants are still forbbiden.

post-5041-13819251304918_thumb.jpg

Excellent center.

I think you will remain pleased. I too went with the full rangers for my mid-woofs and after 18 months can say that I have no qualms. The mid horn and tweet will give you that seamless front soundstage and the Fostex will really anchor the LF center information better than most others here will know.

Congrats. Let's hope the DIY bug has hit someone else and you too can rationalize outrageous expenditures and convince yourself that nothing sounds better. I do that and I now have a very strong relationship with the rationalization center of my brain.....6.gif