Klipsch vs. B&W

bonedoc

I'm no audio expert, but I've gotten the chance to listen to a pair of B&W 703 speakers at a local high end audio store. And I can honestly say, I wasn't impressed. I felt that my friend's (whom was there at the time) Forte was SO better. I couldn't state why the Fortes were better, but they just were. Maybe it was the clarity of the voices? Who knows. 16.gif

----------------

On 5/1/2004 9:54:43 PM bonedoc wrote:

Has anyone had the chance to honestly compare the two. Specifically high brightness, mids, tightness of bass ect. Just wondering.

----------------

Bonedoc - Which specific models of B&W and Klipsch are you referring to? I've heard ALL of the Klipsch Heritage models and ALL of the B&W Nautilus models including the Signature 800.

Tell us specifically what you're looking to know. Associated equipment? Budget? New or used?

Quite frankly, if you're buying used you can pick up a pair of Klipschorns in MINT condition for $3K. The best you'll be able to muster for that much money on a used pair of B&Ws is the Nautilus 803. Between the 803s and the K-horns there is NO comparison. You'd have to step up to the 802s to begin a fair fight. Even still, it's the proverbial "apples and oranges" comparison.

Hi bonedoc,

I've had a chance to audition the majority of Klipsch heritage and reference series as well as quite a bit of B&W stuff.

The B&W 700 series is not really worth talking about IMHO.