Newbie La Scala questions

jeffgeorge

I fiinally pulled the trigger on a pair of '85 La Scalas. I am a Klipsch Veteran (20 yrs. or so), but I have a few questions regarding these beauties.

1. These look to be stock AK crossovers. Is there anything I should know about them? I may look at mods down the road, but for now, I want to spend some time listening to them.

2. I am going to use them as mains in my HT. Thinking of Using Heresys as center and surrounds. Anyone else here use this combo? Space up front is limited, so even though I won't rule out another La Scala as a center down the road - I would like to go the Heresy route. pros / cons?

3. I know many here tout tubes as the way to go. Practically speaking, I will be using a SS Surround receiver for a while. Any real problems with this?

Thanks in advance.

I fiinnally pulled the trigger on a pair of '85 La Scalas.

Congratulations!

2. I am going to use them as mains in my HT. Thinking of Using Heresys as center and surrounds. Anyone else here use this combo? Space up front is limited, so even though I won't rule out another La Scala as a center down the road - I would like to go the Heresy route. pros / cons?

I use a Heresy center and it works out great for me. I have another brand altogether at the rear surrounds but it doesn't bother me at all. It the voice match up front that is more important.

3. I know many here tout tubes as the way to go. Practically speaking, I will be using a SS Surround receiver for a while. Any real problems with this?

Thanks in advance.

----------------

Opinions differ. I've never tried tubes and I'm happy with an h/k receiver.

Congrats on the Scalas. I had a 5.1 setup for a while using LaScala mains and Heresy center and surrounds. It worked well. Also used an H/K AVR receiver with pleasing results for HT.

Not using it now, but not through any dissatisfaction with the gear. I'm just not a real HT lover.

Enjoy!

----------------

On 3/5/2005 9:25:18 PM jeffgeorge wrote: