Pioneer/Fukuin Vintage HT-3 horn + JBL LE5-2 Edgar midhorn

Yasnyi-Sokol

Hi, friends,

I am new to this forum.

Also I am new to horn speakers. But I like tube amplifiers, and have 2a3 amp which needs good speakers now.

I recently bought from ebay a pair of Vintage Pioneer/Fukuin HT-3 horn tweeters. They look beautiful, very well done, must be a real rock piece of japanese culture.

But I don't have any idea where they were used and about their specs. The only data I found is they are 16 ohm, Xover higher than 2.7 kHz. Fukuin is perhaps the old japanese name of Pioneer.

I found also the specs of similar PT-3 horns (looks very similar to these, the same size, and also made by Fukuin) It says 102 dB, 1.7-16 kHz, and used in Hamlin speakers.

What are Hamlin speakers? Can anyone point me please?

I was also excited by the paper of Edgar about JBL LE5 mid range horn.

What do You think about using these both units together (Edgar midrange + HT-3 as the tweeter)?

Any Your ideas are welcome and I will also be thankful for any information regarding HT-3 horns.

Sincerely,

Alex

PS This is their photo

68_1.JPG

Alex----Nice looking tweeters and I wouldn't be surprised if they had excellent sound, Pioneer made some fine drivers and the famous TADs are Pioneers.

I suppose they'd work well with the Edgars, why not? Why do you want to use the Edgars with the LE-5s rather than compression drivers? Do you plan to build the horns yourself?

What are your woofer plans?