Altec 290 16K Drivers Coming...what now?

This may have been a dumb thing to do, chalk it up to an impulse buy, but I have been interested for some time in trying out some midrange drivers with my K-Horns other than the K-55V, so I picked up a pair of Altec 290 16K drivers on e-Bay. It will be a week or so before they get here, so in the meantime, I have a bunch of questions centering around what to do with them. [:)]

I have NO experience with new midrange drivers, so please bear with some really naive questions. I have been to an Altec site, and I have the spec sheet on these drivers. Here are my initial questions--
1. What kind of wiring issues are there? That is, how do I attach wires to use these drivers in an audio system, assuming I will not be using the transformers that come with them for sound reinforcement?
2. Is there an easy way to determine whether or not they work, like touching an AA battery to the connections?
3. How do I test the impedance and what is a useful range for these if they are working properly? (I do have a little RS digital meter.)
4. I assume these will have to be mated to horns that have a larger mouth area than the Trachorns or K-400s that came with my K-horns? djk suggested 805, 1005, 311-90. Any thoughts on these choices?
5. Finally can I use my current crossovers (Crites') to test these, and if not, what are my options?

Many thanks,

George