RP-3 center channel matching??

launch1

Hi all, I just bought me a pair of RP-3s and I have to say I am amazed at the clarity and sound from these!! I went with the recommendation of my salesperson on getting the SC-1 Center channel though and think this might have been a mistake?? another salesman gave me a different oppinion pointing out klipsch's speaker matching chart and telling me I should get the RC-3.

the first salesman told me that the SC-1 has one driver that is active and one that is passive therefore for some reason (I'm not an expert) it would have better freq. response or produce low freq. better than the RC-3 which has both drivers "active". He said that since I want to use my 5 ch stereo and like to listen to music with my system as well as theatre that I would be better served with the SC-1?........

my question is ...Is this active/passive thing actually true and, in your opinion would I be better served by the SC-1 or RC-1. Does the driver material make that much difference in the timbre matching on these speakers?? any advice or info would be really appreciated.... I like to here opinions to so if you have on feel free to speak up...

Thanks!

Go tell that sales person to get their story straight if they want to do any more business with you. The SC-1 uses dual active low frequency drivers. It is NOT the proper match for any of the Reference series, including RP-3's. The RC-3 Reference center channel is the matching speaker for your mains. It uses a Tapered Array design wherein both woofers cover the lowest range, then one is shut off by the crossover network, allowing just a single driver to handle the band of information below where the horn system takes over. This produces smoother response across a range of listening positions. It is sometimes called 2 1/2 way design.

The sales person is either lying or Very confused. It's this kind of 'service' which drives people away from dealers.