Perpetual Technologies P-1A review

Prana-Bindu

I just got the thing, so I will only mention my initial impressions.

One word: low-level detail. Holy minutae, Klipsch Man!

I'm still getting a feel for it, but there's something else that grabbed me right away: I was too lazy to switch cables when doing comparative listening, so I just toggled the resolution enhancement on and off. This meant, however (I think), that the P-1A still did its jitter filtering. Even with the resolution enhancement off, transients are less smeared, bass less muddy, imaging is quite a bit less fuzzy. Of course, for interface limitation reasons, I have to use a transport I've never used before and coaxial digital cable instead of the toslink I'm used to. However, the difference is so stark to me (different story from my girlfriend), that I can't imagine only those factors playing such a significant role. Of course, my understanding is that those factors only affect the jitter amounts anyway.

I'll try to do some more controlled listening and report back.

As far as the resolution enhancement goes: low-level detail and smoooooooth! I sat my girl down to see what she noticed, so she got to choose the music (Sarah McLaughlin, Surfacing). On track #6, after listening without the resolution enhancement, she fumbled for the remote to go to the right track when I turned on the enhancement. She actually thought it was a different track!

Here's the gear in use: RCA DVD (cheapo), Acoustic Research coaxial digital cable (cheapo), P-1A, standard I2S cable, P-3A DAC (Level II Wrightmods), Kimber Silverstreak, VTL IT-85 integrated amp, Kimber 8TC bi-wire braided, Klipsch RF-3's.

Wow, man! Like, low-level detail! Wow!

------------------

May the bridges we burn light our way....

P1A & Wright modified P3A not cheapo. Do you have the Monolithic power supply also? (Makes a difference).