Quick question

bdc

BDC,

Yes, surprisingly it does. I'm not technical enough in my understanding to recall or replay the explanation I head some months ago. But it did make sense.

Below is some material excepted from www.upscaleaudio.com.

http://www.upscaleaudio.com/AH!/ahN.htm

Music on CD's is currently sampled (in Redbook standard) at a speed of 44.1kHz and at rate of 16bits. Oversampling uses an even integer of the 44.1 base rate i.e. 88.2, 176.4, and so on to produce a 2x, 4x, 8x oversampling at any bit rate like 18, 20 or 24 bits, etc., but there is no bit rate conversion. 16 bits remains 16 bits.

Upsampling uses a re-sampling rate. This rate is derived from the decennia-long standing industry standard of 48kHz (DAT tape etc), ie 96kHz, or even 192kHz. In the case of the Tjoeb Upsampler (192kHz), it has (as such) no relation to the original sample frequency anymore. At the same time, it converts the bit rate to 24 bits as opposed to the original 16 bits. Hence, more detail.

http://www.stereophile.com/digitalsourcereviews/1103tjoeb/index1.html

There isn't room here to delineate the technical nature of upsampling or how Njoe Tjoeb mates it to a tubed output stage, but based on my experience of these units, and of conjugal visits with the pricey, pace-setting, supremely musical dCS Elgar, I was reminded anew of how, when all else is in doubt, the culprit is invariably noise. Proponents of upsampling assume that, as you remove noise by reducing jitter errors and kicking high-frequency artifacts upstairs into ever less audible realms, ambient backgrounds get blacker and deeper.