It has probably been asked before i'll ask anyways

Swerv

I'm considering a 10-12inch sub for music and HT, will probably start off with some midsized bookshelves, nothing too expensive as I'm on a college budget. I already have a good idea of what I'm after for the books but I have no experience with either the HSU or SVS subs , obviously I know they are very compeditive and offer excellent performance price ratio.

Problem is, you guessed it, I cant audition them anywhere near me that I know of. I was considering entry level SVS and an equally priced HSU, however I'm also open to other bargains, I'm after Slam, precision, palpability and depth ( if thats at all even possible in an sub priced at this range)

Perhaps one of you can guide me in which direction, or maybe the sub Human theEAR has an idea of what I can pick up here in ottawa Canada that might be a good value without breaking my bank.

Sub wise I'd have to recommend the pw-2100. This is probably one of the best price to performance ratio 10" subs out there. It has great quality output to below 30hz. Would mate very well with any bookshelf speaker. For 500 dollars canadian, I can't think of a better deal. SVS should be out of the question considering the hefty tax, shipping, and brokerage fees. It ends up being close to double the listed price on the SVS website.

As for bookshelves, lots to choose from here: Klipsch RB-5, Paradigm Studio 20, Dynaudio Audience 42, Totem Mites. Then a little bit higher in the price range:

Klipsch RB-75, Pardigm Signature S2, Dynaudio 52 and 52 Special Edition, Totem Signature Model 1... the list goes on.

I'm Dynaudio biased so I would recommend the 42, 52, and 52se. In fact, I would take the 42 over any Klipsch bookshelf. I truly believe the 42 is one of the best in that price range. For its size, you wouldn't believe the bass it is capable of as well as soundstage. Over here in Toronto, the 42 can be had for about $900 CAD with some bargaining.

-UP