Basement with beams in place

damonrpayne

Yes, its hard to tell from my crappy photography but after that area has finished I'll have quite a bit of space. The only bad feature is that I will have to make a small box around the vertical beam but only a couple of inches and the room will still be just over 20' wide after the drywall is up. Despite how painful this building process is I know I'm going to be very fortunate to have a big room and a woman who does not interfere with my audio obsession in any way!

Damon, I've been AFK most of the time for a week or 3, finally got a little time to try and catch up on some threads I'd been following. Looks like you're having a blast with the building project!!! (Or not). Not to worry, it will get better. I'm not an engineer/designer/contractor, but from what I can see with the new picture, a post on the end of each beam, with a pad underneath each post, should oughta work. I don't recall if you mentioned the length of each beam, I know 22' or so was mentioned someplace, not sure if that's per beam or the full span. Even if it's 44', you have two seperate supports both rated at many thousands of pounds I'm sure, I realize houses aren't light, but you're also only supporting a percentage of it on these two beams. I'd be in the same shoes as you are, if the contractor says it'll work, and the county says it'll work, do I really want to go out to hire someone just to hear it won't work? I mean, sure, it absolutly, positivly MUST work, or your house caves in, but I doubt it's the first time the builder or inspector has seen something of this design or span. From an engineer's viewpoint it may not be the best design, it may not be the most efficient design, it may not be the correct way to solve an issue, but if it works and makes the price point, well, everything's a compromise somewhere. (Sorry Gilbert, though you are probably technically correct.)