4.1 and NForce

Ancient

I know nothing about sound systems except it sounds good or bad and at 82 yrs old, its hard to learn. I just bought a MSI Nforce board with on board sound and they say the only way to get 4.1 sound out of it is to use the spdif connector.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated. In other words, Im lost.

ancient

Well, the easiest thing to do would be to get a new sound card. The ProMedia speakers can not take an spdif connection.

Get an Acoustic Edge sound card. It is aroun $79-89 and does 4.1 output and sounds great! For an even better deal, and better sound, get the Voyetra Santa Cruz. It is $79 and sounds beautiful! both of these cards will do 5.1 incase you ever decide to get a 5.1 system Smile.gif

Good luck! Smile.gif

------------------

-justin

I am an amateur, if it is professional;

ProMedia help you want email Amy or call her @ 1-888-554-5665

Klipsch Home Audio help you want, email support@klipsch.com or call @ 1-800-KLIPSCH

RA# Fax Number=317-860-9140 / Parts Department Fax Number=317-860-9150

justin_tx_16

I want to thank you so much for the help. I have a sound blaster card and a Santa Cruz, I cant remem ber the name of the other but it has another card bracket with lots of connectors on it. I hate to not use the onboard sound for I planned on just using this computer for seti,until I changed my CPU cooler and crushed my CPU (old shakey hands and poor eyesight)cwm1.gif.

thank you

ancient

well, if you really don't care about surround sound, well, true surround sound, you can just get two mini stereo y adapters and plug that into the stereo output on your sound card, thenplug the ProMedias into that. you wonlt have true 4.1 but you will have all sats and sub working Smile.gif only cost ya say $2!

------------------

-justin

Klipsch Home Audio help you want, email support@klipsch.com or call @ 1-800-KLIPSCH

Justin