How do you set up a home network with a win98 pc and a xp pro. pc?

Gh7

well i just made me a pc and installed xp on it, for some damn reason i have been at it all night and still cant fingure what the hell is is wrong with this crap. i cant get my pcs to communicate, what things need to be exact so they could reconize each other.

• Like 1

i don't think you can network XP and anything else below it, maybe with XP pro, but that is what i was told.

------------------

-justin

I am an amateur, if it is professional;

ProMedia help you want email Amy or call her @ 1-888-554-5665 or for an RA# 1-888-554-5665

Klipsch Home Audio help you want, email support@klipsch.com or call @ 1-800-KLIPSCH

RA# Fax Number=317-860-9140 / Parts Department Fax Number=317-860-9150

ProMedia 5.1 Placement Help s>

• 3 weeks later...

quote:

Originally posted by justin_tx_16:

i don't think you can network XP and anything else below it, maybe with XP pro, but that is what i was told.

That's not completely true, Justin. I have a ME PC and a XP PC. What I've done to make it work is set-up home networking in the XP-PC like normal.

Then I popped in the WINXP PRO cd in my Millenium Edition PC and chose to set-up HOME NETWORKING from the menu that popped up. After a restart I could access the internet at the ME PC via the XP PC and also communicate with eachother from the NETWORK NEIGHBOURHOOD.

------------------

-------------------------

If the DUDE doesn't like it, it's not worth buying!

well that is reasuring Smile.gif we have lots-o computers at my house that we have been wanting to network again, but half are XP and half are 98-ME...

cool Smile.gif

------------------

-justin

ProMedia 5.1 Tech Help

ProMedia help you want email Amy or call her @ 1-888-554-5665 or for an RA# 800-554-7724 ext 5

Klipsch Home Audio help you want, email support@klipsch.com or call @ 1-800-KLIPSCH

RA# Fax Number=317-860-9140 / Parts Department Fax Number=317-860-9150s>

quote: