2 good, 4 bad?

Mabus

When using my 4.1's in two speaker mode the sound is awsome! But when I change to 4 speaker mode there is an over powering amount of static coming from all speakers. Would upgrading my cables solve this? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I've tried the speakers with two different sound cards and both produced the same static.

TIA

what sound cards?

it is very unlikely to be the speakers. to test that out, get a minis tereo y adapter and hook the promedia's to that, and then that to the soundcard and tell it to do stereo output, not 4 speaker. if you get no static, you can be sure that the problem is the card.

i have heard of this happening with creative cards.

------------------

-justin

SoundWise Support

A technical help site created by me and my fellow Klipschers

I am an amateur, if it is professional;

ProMedia help you want email Amy or call her @ 1-888-554-5665 or for an RA# 800-554-7724 ext 5

Klipsch Home Audio help you want, email support@klipsch.com or call @ 1-800-KLIPSCH

RA# Fax Number=317-860-9140 / Parts Department Fax Number=317-860-9150s>

My Audigy does the same thing.... Creative suggested that the card be on it's own IRQ with PCI Steering as the only other thing that could share that same IRQ. Also the ACPI in BIOS should be disabled and then the OS re-installed over itself. If you are running Win 2K/XP then choose to "repair option" on the re-install...This can be done safely with any Windows product except 95. Santa Cruz cards aren't supposed to be on IRQ 9 and should also be alone or with PCI Steering only. Here's the info from Turtle Beach http://www.tbeach.com/site/kb_ftp/5854066.asp

This message has been edited by gabriel11 on 05-08-2002 at 04:45 PM

quote:

Originally posted by justin_tx_16:

what sound cards?

it is very unlikely to be the speakers. i have heard of this happening with creative cards.